Mission & History


The Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission exists to serve our members by providing professional planning and technical resources, a concerted approach to regional cooperation, planning assistance with program delivery, and a forum for the interaction of appointed and elected local government officials and citizen members.

Timeline of RRRC History & Member Jurisdictions

December 1971:  The Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission was chartered following enactment of the organization's original charter by the Town of Warrenton, Fauquier County, Orange County and Rappahannock County.

January 1973:  The first meeting was held on January 16th, 1973 at the Culpeper Town Hall with Mr. Richard E. McNear, representing Fauquier County, elected as the first Chairman of the Regional Commission.

July 1974: Culpeper County and Madison County join the Regional Commission.

January 1978: Town of Culpeper joins the Regional Commission.

October 1982: Town of Gordonsville and Town of Orange join the Regional Commission.

March 1987: Town of Remington joins the Regional Commission.

January 1997: Town of Madison joins the Regional Commission.

October 2007: Town of Washington joins the Regional Commission.

December 2009: Town of The Plains joins the Regional Commission.

RRRC Chair History