RRRC Leadership Awards

We are now accepting nominations for the 2024 Regional Leadership Awards through August 2, 2024. Click here to submit a nomination for a deserving Citizen or Government leader from the region!

Created in 2007, the Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission Regional Leadership Citizen & Government Awards recognize members of government and citizens of the region for outstanding contributions to the Rappahannock-Rapidan region, and promotion/advancement of enhanced communication, coordination and regional planning across Planning District Nine.

  Citizen Government
2023 Felicia Champion James P. 'Jim' Crozier
2022 Hal Hunter Chris Jenkins
2021 Jerry Wood
Thomas O'Halloran Sean Polster
Linda Stouffer Paige Read
2020 No Awards presented due to COVID-19
2019 Charles D. 'Charlie' Barrell Roger Welch
2018 John Meadows Henry Lee & Judy Carter
2017 Robert Bradford Brian Duncan
2016 G. Russell Aylor, Jr. John Coates
2015 Deirdre Clark Doris Lackey
2014 Sallie Morgan Harry C. Hopkins, Jr.
2013 Hunt Cheatwood Grover Wilson
2012 William Speiden Frederick P.D. Carr
2011 Mary Root John W. McCarthy
2010 John J. "Butch" Davies Frank Bossio
2009 Beverly Hunter Robert P. Anderson
2008 David S. Scott Ruth Updike
2007 Khalil Hassan Harry F. Atherton

Government-Award Eligibility Criteria:  Elected Official or Government Staff.

RRRC Commissioners are eligible; RRRC Staff are not eligible.

Citizen-Award Eligibility Criteria:  Citizen planner, neighborhood/community activist, or appointed volunteer member of planning commission, board of zoning appeals, transportation or other committee.